News
A season in the swamps #2
Beneath The Pavement, Not The Beach
24th Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival, Czech republic
Share

Hybrid vehicle

From January 21st to February 25th 2012 Martine and Thibault de la Châtre gallery, Paris
Hybrid vehicle

After her very ironic series of cosmetic plants: Phylloplasty, shown in Chaumont in 2010, Karine Bonneval is taking advantage of a large-scale in situ work at the art centre la Maréchalerie to extend her work as a baroque botanist. The art centre houses a greenhouse where a whimsical experiment takes place: plants develop with animal characteristics and their shape of eyelashes, hair and manicured nails is deliberately human.

For her exhibition at Galerie Martine et Thibault de la Chatre entitled Hybrides Véhicules Karine Bonneval shows a series of installations, sculptures and images born of a reflection on the relationship between the living and the mechanical. Thus, porcelain sculptures representing objects linked to the automobile are spiked with cereals for agro-fuels and embody a completely artificial life. These precious fetishes of modernity combine a universe where vanity and the will to power are articulated.

Also presented in this exhibition are the first images of a series on the costumes of explorers. Halfway between camouflage and disguise, these outfits are staged in domesticated natural spaces. They reveal the strangeness of the geometric assemblage of well-aligned forests and the orthodoxy of cultivated fields.

Karine Bonneval's ambivalent objects reject the approximations and naivety of anthropomorphic representations of nature; they show that the "necessary" link between man and nature, the "symbiosis" that ecology wishes to be "harmonious", is driven first and foremost by a desire for control.

Juliette Cortes

DOCUMENT(S)
  • Hybrid vehicle
  • Hybrid vehicle
  • Hybrid vehicle
  • Hybrid vehicle
Karine Bonneval

Actualité
Sous les pavés, il n'y a pas la plage
24th Festival international du film documentaire de Ji.hlava, République Tchèque
Conférence à ARoS - résidence Earthbound- Aarhus, Danemark : Se planter
Partager

Hybrides véhicules

Du 21 janvier au 25 février 2012 Galerie Martine et Thibault de la Châtre, Paris
Hybrides véhicules

Après sa très ironique série de plantes cosmétiques : Phylloplastie, montrée à Chaumont en 2010, Karine Bonneval profite d’un travail in situ à grande échelle au centre d’art la Maréchalerie pour prolonger son travail de botaniste baroque. Le centre d’art abrite une serre où se déroule une expérimentation fantaisiste : des plantes se développent avec des caractéristiques animales et leur forme de cils, cheveux et ongles manucurés est délibérément humaine.

Pour son exposition à la galerie Martine et Thibault de la Chatre intitulée Hybrides Véhicules Karine Bonneval montre une série d’installations, sculptures et images nées d’une réflexion sur les relations entre le vivant et le mécanique. Ainsi, des sculptures de porcelaine représentant des objets liés à l’automobile sont hérissés de céréales pour agro-carburants et incarnent une vie toute artificielle. Ces fétiches précieux de la modernité combinent un univers où s’articule vanité et volonté de pouvoir.

Egalement présentées dans cette exposition, les premières images d’une série sur les costumes d’explorateurs. A mi-chemin entre camouflage et déguisement, ces tenues sont mises en scènes dans des espaces naturels domestiqués. Elles révèlent l’étrangeté de l’assemblage géométrique des forêts bien alignées et l’orthodoxie des champs cultivés.

Les objets ambivalents de Karine Bonneval rejettent les approximations et la naïveté des représentations anthropomorphiques de la nature ; ils montrent que le lien « nécessaire » entre l’homme et la nature, la « symbiose » que l’écologie souhaite « harmonieuse » est mû d’abord par une volonté de contrôle.

Juliette Cortes

DOCUMENT(S)
  • Hybrides véhicules
  • Hybrides véhicules
  • Hybrides véhicules
  • Hybrides véhicules
Karine Bonneval