News
Beneath The Pavement, Not The Beach
24th Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival, Czech republic
Artist talk at ARoS - Earthbound residency - Aarhus, Danemark : Se planter
Share

Pass me the salt!

From July 6th to September 27th 2013 Fontenay-le-Comte contemporary art journey, diverse locations
Pass me the salt!

The first time in the morning at breakfast, the second at noon, and in the evening at dinner, not to mention the 4pm snack and the 11am snack. Eating, a recurring activity that keeps us busy at least three times a day. Trivial and essential, food connects us to the earth and connects us to others. How can we not be astonished by the magic of this operation which transforms in us, fruits, vegetables, meat, fish and chocolate bars into blood, lymph, flesh, energy, intelligence?

Founding question: what is a food? Above all, it is an object that we consider edible. Aurélie Mathigot shows us the limits of this appreciation. Her crochet works take the opposite tack to the preconceived idea that what is beautiful is necessarily good and, in the specific case of food, edible.
Looking poetically at the relationship between health and food, Magali Babin changes water into wine and transforms wine into a remedy. Shifting the boundaries of health issues from man to the city, she acts as a doctor recalcifying a wall, healing city wounds with sweet pastillages.
Food as an entry to a societal representation: Florentine Guedon invents tools that tell a bittersweet story of human relations in agriculture. Pauline Horovitz's films describe with a squeaky humour the impact of family culture on eating habits and explain the ideological choices of the eater, vegetarianism, organic, etc.
Between documentary and fiction, Karine Bonneval's research on the exoticism and acclimatisation of plants shows the discrepancies and hypocrisy of our food culture.
Michel Le Brun-Franzaroli suggests in his paintings that the fear of missing out has shifted to the side of agricultural policies.
Finally, food is a matter of taste and pleasure, which is the preoccupation of Marc Bretillot's culinary design. He seeks a relationship between form and taste and presents, for the Parcours Contemporain, a work on cheese. What things reveal in the negative help him to understand how the material behaves during cooking, what is the influence of the holes in the Gruyère cheese on taste? The designer's research sheds a surprising light on the professions of taste.

The novelty of this edition of the Parcours Contemporain is to provoke a back and forth between the arts and social sciences. To the artists' proposals, a food geographer, Gilles Fumey, brings a scientific commentary to situate the works in the context of the social sciences. The diversity of these proposals and the multidisciplinary openness of the Parcours testify to the richness of contemporary thought and re-establishes in a simple way the correspondences between each of these disciplines: design, plastic arts, cinema-documentary and social sciences.

  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
  • Pass me the salt!
Karine Bonneval

Actualité
Sous les pavés, il n'y a pas la plage
24th Festival international du film documentaire de Ji.hlava, République Tchèque
Conférence à ARoS - résidence Earthbound- Aarhus, Danemark : Se planter
Partager

Passe-moi le sel !

Du 6 juillet au 27 septembre 2013. Parcours d’art contemporain de Fontenay-le-Comte, divers lieux
Passe-moi le sel !

Une première fois le matin au petit déjeuner, une deuxième à midi, et le soir au dîner, sans parler du goûter de 16h et du snack de 11h. S’alimenter, activité récurrente qui nous occupe au moins trois fois par jour. Triviale et essentielle, l’alimentation nous relie à la terre et nous relie aux autres. Comment ne pas s’étonner devant la magie de cette opération qui transforme en nous, fruits, légumes, viandes, poissons et barres chocolatées en sang, lymphe, chair, en énergie, en intelligence ?

Question fondatrice : qu’est-ce qu’un aliment ? Avant tout, c’est un objet que l’on considère comme mangeable. Aurélie Mathigot nous montre les limites de cette appréciation. Ses oeuvres au crochet prennent le contre-pied de cette idée reçue qui veut que ce qui est beau est forcément bon et, dans le cas précis de la nourriture, comestible.
Envisageant avec poésie la relation entre la santé et l’aliment, Magali Babin change l’eau en vin et transforme le vin en remède. Déplaçant les frontières des questions de santé de l’homme à la ville, elle intervient en médecin recalcifiant un mur, soignant les blessures citadines avec des pastillages sucrés.
L’alimentation comme entrée d’une représentation sociétale : Florentine Guedon invente des outils qui racontent une histoire aigre-douce de relations humaines dans l’agriculture. Les films de Pauline Horovitz décrivent avec un humour grinçant l’impact de la culture familiale sur ses habitudes alimentaires et explique les choix idéologiques du mangeur, végétarisme, bio, etc.
Entre documentaire et fiction, les recherches de Karine Bonneval, sur l’exotisme et l’acclimatation des végétauxmontrent les décalages et l’hypocrisie de notre culture alimentaire.
Michel Le Brun-Franzaroli suggère dans ses peintures que la peur de manquer est passée du côté des politiques agricoles.
Enfin, l’alimentation est une affaire de goût et de plaisir ce qui est la préoccupation du design culinaire de Marc Bretillot. Il cherche une relation entre la forme et le goût et présente, pour le Parcours Contemporain, un travail sur le fromage. Ce que les choses révèlent en négatif l’aident à comprendre comment se comporte la matière à la cuisson, quelle est l’influence des trous du gruyère sur le goût ? Les recherches du designer apportent un éclairage étonnant sur les métiers du goût.

La nouveauté de cette édition du Parcours Contemporain est de provoquer un aller-retour entre les arts et les sciences sociales. Aux propositions des artistes, un géographe de l’alimentation, Gilles Fumey, apporte un commentaire scientifique pour situer les oeuvres dans le contexte des sciences sociales. La diversité de ces propositions et l’ouverture pluridisciplinaire du Parcours témoignent de la richesse de la pensée contemporaine et rétablit de façon simple les correspondances entre chacune de ces disciplines : design, arts-plastiques, cinéma-documentaire et sciences sociales.

  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
  • Passe-moi le sel !
Karine Bonneval