News
Nature from HHumboldt, Art meets Science- Matinee im Botanischen Garten Berlin
Daniel et Niana Carasso 's founding, Composing knowledge
La Borne a 10 ans
Share

UN/GREEN

from july 5 to september 22 2019 Latvian National Museum of Art
UN/GREEN

Curators: Jens HAUSER (DE/FR), Rasa ŠMITE and Raitis ŠMITS (RIXC, LV)

Un/Green exhibition artists: Agnes MEYER-BRANDIS (DE), Rebekah BLESING (US), Karine BONNEVAL (FR), Adam W. BROWN (US), Bureau d´études (FR), Santa FRANCE (LV), HeHe (FR/DE/UK), Robert HENGEVELD (CA), Florent Di Bartolo (FR), Voldem?rs JOHANSONS (LV), Iodine Dynamics (NL/FR/US/UK), Eva-Maria LOPEZ (DE/FR), Francisco LOPEZ (ES), AnneMarie MAES (BE), Joana MOLL (ES/DE), Quimera Rosa (ES/AR/FR), Jan-Peter E.R. SONNTAG (DE), Taavi SUISALU (EE), Rihards V?TOLS (LV)

The 2019 RIXC Festival aims at complicating the pervasively employed notion of “green” by providing a cross-disciplinary platform for discussions and artistic interventions exploring one of the most paradoxical and broadest topics of our times. The Festival features the “Un/Green” exhibition at the Latvian National Museum of Art, and the 4th Open Fields Conference which aims to ‘un-green' greenness, eco-systemically reconnect post-human postures, and discover and unpack ‘Naturally Artificial Intelligences.’

'Green’, symbolically associated with the ‘natural’ and employed to hyper-compensate for what humans have lost, will be addressed as the indeed most anthropocentric of all colours, in its inherent ambiguity between alleged naturalness and artificiality. Are we in control of ‘green’? Despite its broadly positive connotations ‘green’ incrementally serves the uncritical desire of fetishistic and techno-romantic naturalization in order to metaphorically hyper-compensate for material systemic biopolitics consisting of the increasing technical manipulation and exploitation of living systems, ecologies, and the biosphere at large. We, as human species, symbolically re-contextualize techno-scientific tools and their related metaphors to offset what we feel we are losing in times marked by the Anthropocene. Art at the threshold of the techno-sciences appears to be well suited to reveal the contradictions and paradoxes, and to disentangle allegedly linked notions such as ‘aliveness’, ‘naturalness, and’ ‘greenness’. Against the grain of the dominant colour symbolism, the “Un/Green” exhibition addresses ‘green’ as percept, medium, material biological agency, semantic construct and ideology. The media arts are well suited to critique and deconstruct the entanglement between the symbolic green, ontological greenness and performative greening. They stage its toxic ambivalence, perceptual shifts and multi-sensory alternatives to vision, trans-species encounters, technologized lawns, or the impact of digital technologies while we are greenwashing greenhouse effects away.

website

  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
© Karine Bonneval

Actualité
Manger la terre
Basculement des mondes
Conférence
Partager

UN/GREEN

du 5 juillet au 22 septembre 2019 Musée national d'art de Lettonie
UN/GREEN

Commissaires: Jens HAUSER (DE/FR), Rasa ŠMITE and Raitis ŠMITS (RIXC, LV)

artistes de l'exposition Un/Green : Agnes MEYER-BRANDIS (DE), Rebekah BLESING (US), Karine BONNEVAL (FR), Adam W. BROWN (US), Bureau d´études (FR), Santa FRANCE (LV), HeHe (FR/DE/UK), Robert HENGEVELD (CA), Florent Di Bartolo (FR), Voldem?rs JOHANSONS (LV), Iodine Dynamics (NL/FR/US/UK), Eva-Maria LOPEZ (DE/FR), Francisco LOPEZ (ES), AnneMarie MAES (BE), Joana MOLL (ES/DE), Quimera Rosa (ES/AR/FR), Jan-Peter E.R. SONNTAG (DE), Taavi SUISALU (EE), Rihards V?TOLS (LV)

Le Festival RIXC 2019 vise à complexifier la notion omniprésente de "vert" en offrant une plateforme interdisciplinaire de discussions et d'interventions artistiques explorant l'un des sujets les plus paradoxaux et les plus larges de notre époque. Le Festival présente l'exposition "Un/Green" au Musée national d'art de Lettonie et la 4e conférence "Open Fields" qui vise à dé-verdir, à reconnecter écologiquement les postures post-humaines et à découvrir et désassembler les notions d' "Intelligences Naturellement Artificielles ".

Le " vert ", symboliquement associé au " naturel " et utilisé pour hyper-compenser ce que les humains ont perdu, sera considéré comme la plus anthropocentrique de toutes les couleurs, dans son ambiguïté inhérente entre lenaturel et l'artificiel. Sommes-nous en contrôle du " vert " ? En dépit de ses connotations largement positives, le terme " vert " sert progressivement le désir non critique de naturalisation fétichiste et techno-romantique afin de compenser métaphoriquement de manière excessive la biopolitique systémique matérielle consistant dans la manipulation technique et l'exploitation croissante des systèmes vivants, des écologies et de la biosphère en général. En tant qu'espèce humaine, nous recontextualisons symboliquement les outils technoscientifiques et leurs métaphores pour compenser ce que nous estimons perdre dans les temps marqués par l'Anthropocène. L'art au seuil des technosciences semble bien adapté pour révéler les contradictions et les paradoxes, et pour démêler des notions prétendument liées telles que " vivacité ", " naturel " et " verdure ". A contre-courant du symbolisme dominant de la couleur, l'exposition "Un/Green" aborde le "vert" en tant que percept, médium, organisme biologique et matériel, construction sémantique et idéologie. Les arts médiatiques se prêtent bien à la critique et déconstruisent l'enchevêtrement entre le vert symbolique, le vert ontologique et le vert performatif. Ils mettent en scène son ambivalence toxique, ses changements perceptuels et ses alternatives multisensorielles à la vision, aux rencontres trans-espèces, aux pelouses technologisées ou à l'impact des technologies numériques alors que nous éliminons les effets de serre de l'écoblanchiment.

site

  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
  • UN/GREEN
© Karine Bonneval