News
Nature from HHumboldt, Art meets Science- Matinee im Botanischen Garten Berlin
Daniel et Niana Carasso 's founding, Composing knowledge
La Borne a 10 ans
Share

Vertimus

From november 11th to 15th 2019 Experimental Gallery, Tadjen Hall / Ag Quad, Cornell University, NY, USA
Vertimus

This exhibition presents the results of research carried out over three weeks of residency at the soil and crop sciences department of Cornell, at the invitation of Johannes Lehmann and in association with the "Sounds of Soil - tracking soil health for targeted pest control" research grant from Kyle Wickings ( CALS / Geneva Entomology), Johannes Lehmann (CALS / SIPS - Soil and Crop Sciences Section), Holger Klinck (CALS / Laboratory of Ornithology), Greg McLaskey (EN / Civil & Environmental Engr DEPT).

- Oak trunk, 2019: Two printed curtains of a microscopic view from an oak’s bark.

- Vertimus, 2019, is a film developed in collaboration with Eric Badel, from the PIAF, tree ecophysiology laboratory in Clermont Ferrand, France and Emilie Pouzet, performer. In a sphere illuminated at 360 degrees, a poplar tree that has been laid down straightens up thanks to its perception of gravity - gravitoception - without involving photoperception - perception of light -. This frame-by-frame sequence serves as a support for the performer to try to reproduce this righting movement with her (human) body. But exercise is not so easy, and it puts pressure on internal organs and unusual muscles. It is a way for a time to put oneself in the place of the plant, in its anchoring to the ground and its temporality.

- Sonic Rhizotron is a piece done during the residency. It is an attempt to see if root systems of plants (sunflowers and beans) and fungi are attracted or repelled by 5 sounds played in 5 pods. Low frequency natural sounds: Antarctic soundscape / Barred Owls / Sandai wave sound; Stefano Mancuso, plant “neurobiologist”, Firenze University, Italy says that this frequencies are improving the growth of plants; and sounds of potential predators of roots : grub / caterpillar eating a leaf.
- See the sound of soil, piece done during the residency. This image is the sound of a recording done Wednesday November 6 on soil near Bradfield Hall. The sound was recorded with an accelerometer and put into an image trough Raven, the sound software from the Lab of O. This sound can be heard in one of the 3 papier-maché /soil / herbs sounded sculptures installed outdoor in the Ag Quad.

- 50 shades of soil, piece done during the residency. 50 samples of US soil, from the project developed actually in the Soil and Crop Sciences Section: the National Soil Project. Each object is done from a specific soil, and the data are an extract of what you can learn from this samples.

- Outdoor installation, at the AG Quad: listen to the soil. Echoing the ongoing scientific research grant and inspired by this work, 3 new sound sculptures in papier maché and earth give the impression of 3 new soil samples recorded at Cornell in November.

The exhibition would not have been possible without the precious help of: Johannes Lehmann, KAR and Shiyi Li, Laurel Lynch, Itamar Shabtai, Rachelle Lacroix, Greg MacLaskey, Laurel Braden Symes, Holger Klinck, Louise Roberts, Craig Cramer, Taryn L. Bauerle, Kathleen C. Howard, Kirsten S. M. Kurtz, Verity Platt, Cindy Twardokus, Aimee Lehmann.

  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
© Karine Bonneval

Actualité
La Borne a 10 ans
Vertimus, Experimental Gallery, Cornell University, NY, vernissage mardi 12 novembre à 17h
Vertimus, conférence, Milstein auditorium, Cornell, Ithaca, 17h15
Partager

Vertimus

Du 11 au 15 novembre 2019 Experimental Gallery, Tadjen Hall / Ag Quad, Cornell University, NY, USA
Vertimus

Cette exposition propose les résultats de recherches faites pendant trois semaines de résidence au département soil and crop sciences de Cornell, à l'invitation de Johannes Lehmann et en association avec la bourse de recherche "Sounds of Soil – tracking soil health for targeted pest control ".de Kyle Wickings ( CALS / Genève Entomologie), Johannes Lehmann (CALS / SIPS - Section des sciences du sol et des cultures), Holger Klinck (CALS / Laboratoire d'ornithologie), Greg McLaskey (EN / Civil & Environmental Engr DEPT).

- Tronc de chêne, 2019 : Deux rideaux imprimés d'une vue microscopique d'une écorce de chêne.

- Vertimus, 2019, est un film développé en collaboration avec Eric Badel, du PIAF, laboratoire d'écophysiologie des arbres de Clermont Ferrand, France et Emilie Pouzet, artiste. Dans une sphère éclairée à 360 degrés, un peuplier couché se redresse grâce à sa perception de la gravité - gravitoception - sans mettre en jeu la photoperception - perception de la lumière -. Cette séquence en image par image sert de support à la performeuse pour essayer de reproduire ce mouvement de redressement avec son corps (humain). Mais l'exercice n'est pas si facile, et il exerce une pression inhabituelle sur les organes internes et les muscles. C'est une façon pour un temps de se mettre à la place de la plante, dans son ancrage au sol et dans sa temporalité.

- Sonic Rhizotron est une pièce réalisée pendant la résidence. Il s'agit de voir si les systèmes racinaires des plantes (tournesols et haricots) et des champignons sont attirés ou repoussés par 5 sons diffusés dans 5 tubes. Bruits naturels à basse fréquence : Paysage sonore de l'Antarctique / Chouettes rayées / son de vague à Sandai ; Stefano Mancuso, "neurobiologiste" végétal, Université de Florence dit que ces fréquences améliorent la croissance des plantes ; et des sons des prédateurs potentiels des racines : larves / chenilles qui mangent une feuille.

- Voyez le son de la terre, pièce réalisée pendant la résidence. Cette image est le son d'un enregistrement réalisé le mercredi 6 novembre dans le sol près de Bradfield Hall. Le son a été enregistré à l'aide d'un accéléromètre etmise en image avec Raven, le logiciel son du Laboratoire d'ornithologie. Ce son peut être entendu dans l'une des 3 sculptures en papier mâché / sol / herbes installées à l'extérieur dans le Ag Quad.

- 50 nuances de terre, pièce réalisée pendant la résidence. 50 échantillons de sol américain, issus du projet développé actuellement dans la Section des sciences du sol et des cultures : le National Soil Project. Chaque objet est fait à partir d'un sol spécifique, et les données sont un extrait de ce que vous pouvez apprendre de ces échantillons.

- Installation extérieure, à l'AG Quad : listen to the soil. Faisant écho à la bourse de recherche scientifique en cours et inspirée par ce travail, 3 nouvelles sculptures sonores en papier maché et terre donnent à entendre 3 nouveaux échantillons de terre enregistrés à Cornell en novembre.

L'exposition n'aurait pas été possible sans l'aide précieuse de : Johannes Lehmann, KAR et
Shiyi Li, Laurel Lynch, Itamar Shabtai, Rachelle Lacroix, Greg MacLaskey, Laurel Braden Symes, Holger Klinck, Louise Roberts, Craig Cramer, Taryn L. Bauerle, Kathleen C. Howard, Kirsten S. M. Kurtz, Verity Platt, Cindy Twardokus, Aimee Lehmann.

  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
  • Vertimus
© Karine Bonneval