News
Beneath The Pavement, Not The Beach
24th Ji.hlava International Documentary Film Festival, Czech republic
Artist talk at ARoS - Earthbound residency - Aarhus, Danemark : Se planter
Share

The art of adornment

From March 30th to November 11th 2013 Rivau castle, Léméré
The art of adornment

Naji Kamouche's chain mail "Mémoire assassinée", by its title as well as by its formal composition, the work seems to respond to an intimately felt necessity: to allude, through the object, to the presence-absence of the body and to give shape to a questioning of the everyday! The oversized crown of the royal heads, Vincent Olinet's oversized crown, entitled "Notre époque a la poésie qu'elle mérite" (Our era has the poetry it deserves), evokes, not without derision, the fascination of our time for bling-bling. Another style of male headdress, "Du bonheur d'être fragile", Serena Carone's hat, all in biscuit ... not porcelain but flour.

Jacques Halbert's felt "ghost in my hat" hesitates between the genre of costume and that of vanity or perhaps it's a magician's trick : phosphorescent ghosts in a hat !

On the defence side, the hand gloved in armour and carrying the weight of the world entitled Salvatore mundi by the Flemish Jan Fabre is the counterpoint to the "Heaume cimier", decorated with a boar's headdress, imagined by the young plastic artist Astrid Méry Sinivassin.

She revisits, not without humour, the helmets worn by knights during tournaments. The hunter's parade dress in the forest is illustrated with irony by Karine Bonneval: a strange explorer "ExOurs", all in porcelain and quilted with his pencil sea urchins, bears witness to the saying "qui s'y frotte s'y piquet" (who rubs against it, pricks himself on it). Among African sorcerers, the ornament is charged with symbolism. The bearskin, revisited by Max Boufathal, represents for the artist his vision of African ceremonial jewellery. The materials, though poor, give the impression, when illuminated, of a solid gold ornament. All dressed in bolduc, this skin illustrates the artist's taste for gigantism.

A small everyday object in an extraordinary format... the gigantic ring entitled "Nikola" by the Bulgarian Stefan Nikolaev is a copy of a real jewel worn by an Orthodox priest (the artist's great-grandfather) at the time of his death, in bed, in the arms of a young woman. Symbols of the ephemeral nature of life, vanities have always adorned the intimacy of great lords, as Marnie Weber's work "Antelope" testifies. This carnivalesque animal character seems to come straight out of a burlesque and mythical universe that this singular artist conjures up in her installations.

Website

  • The art of adornment
  • The art of adornment
  • The art of adornment
  • The art of adornment
Karine Bonneval

Actualité
Sous les pavés, il n'y a pas la plage
24th Festival international du film documentaire de Ji.hlava, République Tchèque
Conférence à ARoS - résidence Earthbound- Aarhus, Danemark : Se planter
Partager

L'art de la parure

Du 30 mars au 11 novembre 2013 Château du Rivau, Léméré
L'art de la parure

"Mémoire assassinée", la cotte de mailles de Naji Kamouche, par son titre comme par sa composition formelle, l’oeuvre semble répondre à une nécessité intimement ressentie : faire allusion, par l’objet à la présence-absence du corps et donner forme à un questionnement sur le quotidien ! Couvre-chef des têtes royales, la couronne surdimensionnée de Vincent Olinet, intitulée "Notre époque a la poésie qu’elle mérite", évoque non sans dérision la fascination de notre époque pour le bling-bling. Autre style de coiffe masculine, "Du bonheur d’être fragile" le chapeau de Serena Carone, tout en biscuit … non pas de porcelaine mais de farine.

Le feutre de Jacques Halbert a "ghost in my hat" hésite entre le genre du costume et celui des vanités ou peut être est ce un tour de magicien : des fantômes phosphorescents dans un chapeau !

Côté défense, la main gantée d’armure et qui porte le poids du monde intitulée Salvatore mundi du flamand Jan Fabre est le contrepoint au "Heaume cimier", orné d’une hure de sanglier, imaginé par la jeune plasticienne Astrid Méry Sinivassin.

Elle revisite non sans humour les casques portés par les chevaliers lors des tournois. Habit de parade en forêt, celui du chasseur est illustré avec ironie par Karine Bonneval : un drôle d’explorateur "ExOurs" tout en porcelaine et piqué de drôlerie avec ses oursins crayons témoigne du dicton "qui s’y frotte s’y pique ". Chez les sorciers africains, la parure est chargée de symbolique. La peau d’ours, revisitée par Max Boufathal représente pour l’artiste, sa vision de la parure de cérémonie Africaine. Les matériaux, pourtant pauvres, donnent l’impression, lorsqu’ils sont éclairés, d’une parure en or massif. Toute de bolduc vêtue, cette peau illustre le goût de l’artiste pour le gigantisme.

Un petit objet du quotidien dans un format hors norme… la bague gigantesque intitulé "Nikola" du bulgare Stefan Nikolaev est la copie d’un véritable bijou porté par un prêtre orthodoxe (l’arrière grand-père de l’artiste) au moment de sa mort, au lit, dans les bras d’une jeune femme. Symboles du caractère éphémère de la vie, les vanités ont toujours orné l’intimité des grands seigneurs comme en témoigne l’oeuvre de Marnie Weber, "Antelope", ce personnage animalier d’esprit carnavalesque a l’air tout droit sorti d’un univers burlesque et mythique que cette singulière artiste convoque dans ses installations.

Site web

  • L'art de la parure
  • L'art de la parure
  • L'art de la parure
  • L'art de la parure
Karine Bonneval